• 375


Femi Falana, 24 Others To Be Conferred SAN

Femi Falana, 24 Others To Be Conferred SAN

Femi Falana, 24 Others To Be Conferred SAN

Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Maryam Aloma-Muktar will  make her first public outing when she flags-off the 2012/2013 legal year and swears-in human rights activist/lawyer, Mr Femi Falana and 24 others as Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SAN) on  Wednesday.

Alooma-Muktar was sworn-in as the first female CJN by President Goodluck Jonathan on July 16, 2012 and also to be conferred with the honour of Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON).

In a press statement signed by the Deputy Director Press and Information of the Supreme Court, Festus Awneri Akande, the occasion will take place at a special court session of the Supreme Court of Nigeria. Akande  said that, “the recess marking the end of the current legal year 2011/2012 which commenced on Monday July 16, 2011 is expected to terminate  by September 9, 2012.’’

He further stated that the special valedictory court session in honour of the retired Justice Francis Fedode Tabai of the Supreme Court will hold on Thursday  September 13,  2012 by 10 am at the same venue.

The Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee (LPPC) conferred the Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) award on renowned human rights activist, Mr. Femi Falana and 24 other lawyers on July 12, 2012. The decision to confer the prestigious award on the lawyers was taken during LPPC’s meeting presided over by the immediate past CJN, Dahiru Musdapher, in Abuja.

Other successful lawyers on the list are Prof. Yemi Akinseye-George (academics), Prof. Dakas Clement James Dakas (academics), Joy Okungbowa Adesina (Mrs), Chief (Mrs) Connie-Jean Aremu, Mahmud Abubakar Magaji, Ogwu James Onoja, Garuba Usman Tetengi, Henry Oghogho Ogbodu, Selekeowei Larry, Abenny O. Mohammed, Charles Nwanne Obishai, Luke Chukwudi Illogu, Francis Chuka Agbu, Paul C. Ananaba and Akinlaja Dayo Moses.

Others are Ahmed Raji, Adekunle Theophilus Oyesanya, Rotimi Oluseye Samuel Opasanya, Aduroja Claudius Olumuyiwa, Aliyu Umar, Illo Katune Sanusi, Rotimi Jacobs and Ndukwe A. Nnnawuchi.

However, the immediate past CJN, Justice Dahiru Musdapher did not insist to swear-in the new SANs unlike his predecessor, Justice Alosius Katsina-Alu  that inaugurated and swore-in 30 lawyers as SANs on August 26, 2011.

That was in spite of calls by the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) on its members to boycott the planned swearing-in of 30 legal practitioners by Justice Katsina-Alu.

Related news

PDP suffers setback as 15,000 members dump party for APC

PDP suffers setback as 15,000 members dump party for APC

Mass exodus in PDP as 15,000 members dump opposition for APC
Mailfire view pixel