Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Davido, Bez and eLDee lead nominations for NEA 2012 4 years ago 7

Photo: Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Davido, Bez and eLDee lead nominations for NEA 2012Best New Acts of the Year Chidinma, Davido, MayD, Bez, BrymO, Tiwa Savage

The Nominees for the seventh edition of the Nigerian Entertainment Awards has been released. The nominations list was unveiled during a black tie event held at Federal Palace Hotel on Jun 1, 2012.

There are a total of 26 categories which cover both the music and Nollywood industry.

Pop sensation Ayo ‘Wizkid’ Balogun leads the list with six nods. Wiz is followed by Trybe Records boss eLDee, R&B star Tiwa Savage, Jazz-alternative singer Bez, pop singer Davido who all come in with three nods.

A tough category to watch out for is the ‘Best New Act of the Year’ which features Chidinma, Davido, MayD, Bez, BrymO, and Tiwa Savage. All five acts have done pretty well over the last year.

The awards will hold in New York City, on September 2, 2012.

Check out the full list below…

BEST ALBUM OF THE YEAR Soul Is Heavy – Nneka Everybody Loves Ice Prince – Ice Prince Superstar – Wizkid The Dreamer- Show Dem Camp Beautiful Noise- Timi Dakolo Super Sun – Bez

HOTTEST SINGLE OF THE YEAR Ara – Brymo Oliver Twist – Dbanj Pakurumo – Wizkid Dami Duro – Davido Chop My Money – Psquare Ko Ma Roll – Rayce

BEST NEW ACT OF THE YEAR Tiwa Savage BrymO Davido Bez MayD Chidinma

GOSPEL ARTIST/GROUP OF THE YEAR Segun Obe Tim Godfrey Eben Kore Lara George Vivien Stephen

BEST POP/R&B ARTIST OF THE YEAR Chidnma Omawumi Waje Tiwa Savage Wizkid Capital Femi

BEST RAP ACT OF THE YEAR Sauce Kid Ice Prince Vector Eva M.I Show Dem Camp

MUSIC PRODUCER OF THE YEAR Jesse Jagz Don Jazzy Shizzy Cobhams Asuquo Sarz Samklef

BEST INTERNATIONAL ARTIST 2kriss Kadija Kamara Tinie Tempah Skepta Abiade Tipsy

BEST MUSIC VIDEO OF THE YEAR Ara- Brymo – (Directed by Aje Filmworks) Nawti – Olu Maintain – (Directed by Nawti Team) She Likes It- Cap B (Directed by Adeola Alao) My Home – Nneka (Directed by Andy Amadi Okorafor) Tete Lo Bere- Jahbless (Directed by Dj Tee) Pakurumo – Wizkid (Directed by Clarence Peters)

MOST PROMISING ACT TO WATCH Eva Chuddy K Praiz Airis Flowwsick Yung6ix Eddie Kim Dammy Krane

Pan African Artist Or Group Of The Year HHP Sarkodie Vivian Ndoyr Cabo Snoop Donaeo Noni Zondi

BEST US BASED ARTISTE OF THE YEAR Hoodbilli Bolade Awon Boyz Tolumide Duncan Daniel Jay Cube

BEST INDIGENOUS ARTIST/GROUP Timaya Flavour Aduke 9ice Bracket Jah Bless

BEST ACTOR (FILM) Wale Ojo (Phone Swap) Benjamin (Mr & Mrs) Chet Anekwe (Unwanted Guests) Hakeem Kae Kazim (Man on Ground) Ramsey Nouah (Memories of My Heart) Pascal Atuma (Who Is the Man)

BEST ACTRESS (FILM) Uche Jombo (Damaged) Nse Ekpe Etim (Mr & Mrs) Funke Akindele (The Return of Jenifa) Tonto Dike (Private Enemy) Rita Dominic (Shattered) Omotola Jolade Ekeinde (Ties That Bind)

BEST FILM DIRECTOR Kunle Afolayan (Phone Swap) Tade Ogidan (Family on Fire) Tunde Kelani (Maami) Daniel Ademinokan (Unwanted Guests) Leila Djansi (Ties That Bind) Akin Omotosho (Man on Ground)

BEST PICTURE The Young Smoker Inside Story Phone Swap Ties That Bind The Return of Jenifa Unwanted Guests

BEST TV SHOW Nigerian Idol Jacobs Cross Tinsel Naija Sings City Sistas Big Brother Africa

PAN AFRICAN ACTOR Kevin Ndege Mamboleo (Inside Story) Majid Michel (Somewhere In Africa) Van Vicker (Paparazzi) Chris Attoh (6 Hours to Christmas) Edward Kagutuzi (The Mirror Boy) John Dumelo (Ties That Bind)

PAN AFRICAN ACTRESS Ama Abebrese (Ties That Bind) Yvonne Okoro (Single Six) Juliet Ibrahim (Crazy Scandal) Kudzai Sevenzo (Playing Warriors) Jokate Mwegelo (Chumo) Millicent Makheido (48)

WORLD DJ Dj Humility (Nigeria) Dj Xclusive (Nigeria) Dj Abass (UK) Dj Neptune (Nigeria) Dj Jimmy Jatt (Nigeria) Dj Mixmaster Brown (US) Dj Flava (Malaysia) Dj Dee Money (US)

BEST COMEDIAN Seyi Law Ay Julius Agwu Tee A Basket Mouth Alibaba

BEST ENTERTAINMENT PERSONALITY D’banj Eldee Tonto Dike Genevieve Nnaji Funke Akindele 2face Banky W Uti

ENTERTAINMENT PROMOTER Big Moose Ent (US) Flytime (Nigeria) Town Kriers (US) Industry Nite (Nigeria) Cokobar (UK) Tiwaworks (US) Posh Hill Ent (Malaysia) Dejavu (US)

MEDIA PERSONALITY Toolz (BEAT FM 99.9 Lagos) Adam (Soundcity TV) Freeze (Cool Fm 96.9 Lagos) Dolapo Oni (MNET) Uduak Uduok (Ladybrille) Denrele (Channel O Africa)

ENTERTAINMENT EXECUTIVE Audu Maikori eLDee Segun Demuren Efe Omoregbe Obi Asika Ayo Shonaiya

Best Collabo Of The Year Sheyman Ft eLDee/Skales (My Money Remix) Sauce Kid Ft Davido (Carolina) Brackett Ft Wizkid (Girl) Bez Ft Praiz (Stupid Song) Jeru Ft Wizkid (Familiarity) Ikechukwu Ft Xela (Bu Lie Oto) Home Page

Read next

Show more

Read also: