• 375


Planned Demolition Of 19 Abuja Towns Creates Panic

Planned Demolition Of 19 Abuja Towns Creates Panic

Planned demolition of houses in 19 satellite town of the Federal Capital Territory has created panic among Abuja residents.

Already, the Abuja Metropolitan Management Council has marked structures to be pulled down in Mpape near highbrow Maitama area.

Other settlements to be affected are Idu, Karmo, Dape, Tasha, Gwagwa, Saburi, Zauda, Jahi and Gishiri.

The rest are Mabushi, Kuchigoro, Chika, Aleita, Piwoyi, Lugbe, Pyakassa, Tudun -Wada, Dei-Dei and Guzape.

Our correspondent learnt that a majority of the owners of the property had been running around for alternative accommodation before the arrival of the demolition teams.

It was learnt that residents, whose houses were marked for demolition at Mpape, had been searching for accommodation at Kubwa, Dutse Alhaji, Gwarimpa.

The Public Relations Officer, AMMC, Mrs. Josie Mudasiru, told our correspondent on Monday that the demolition would affect property without genuine land allocation documents and building approvals.

She explained that the demolition would be carried out in the 19 communities as part of measures to rid the FCT of illegal structures.

Mudasiru said, “We have sensitised the affected communities about the structures that will be affected during the exercise. All buildings on illegally acquired land and every structure without legal building approval/document will be pulled down.”

Meanwhile, the Civil Society Legislative Advocacy Centre has flayed the FCT Administration over the planned demolition describing it as insensitive and inhuman.

Policy and legislative advocacy officer of the centre, Kolawole Banwo who spoke with newsmen condemned the decision and called on the administration to rescind it.

Related news

PDP suffers setback as 15,000 members dump party for APC

PDP suffers setback as 15,000 members dump party for APC

Mass exodus in PDP as 15,000 members dump opposition for APC
Mailfire view pixel