Delta Kidnappers Get 44 Years Jail Term 4 years ago 6

The Delta Command of the State Security Service (SSS) on Wednesday in Asaba said it has secured the conviction of eight persons for kidnapping and other offences in the state.

The convicted persons, according to a statement signed by the agency Assistant Director, Operations, Mr. Alex Disi, got a total jail term of 44 years. He added that the cases against the eight persons were concluded between February 8, 2012 and July 10, 2012.

The eight are – Ifeanyi Obiakpani, Peter Okafor, Christian Eze, Efe Omonigho, Patrick Boyite, Edafe Erakpor, Bernard Isibor and Edwin Asoro.

The command said Obiakpani, Eze and Okafor bagged 10 years imprisonment each for kidnapping, conspiracy to commit felony and harassing the family of a kidnap victim.

According to the SSS, the charges against the trio were determined by Justice Theresa Diai at the Ogwashi-Uku High Court.

It also said that Omonigho got two years and 18 months on charges of stealing and threat to life. “Boyite and Erakpor were individually sentenced to three months imprisonment for each of three-count charges, with an option of fine of N5, 000 by Chief Magistrate Nnamdi Onyekwe,” the News Agency of Nigeria quoted the command as saying in the statement. Home Page

Read next

Show more

Read also: