Messi, Van Persie, Ronaldo Others on Uefa Best Player Shortlist 4 years ago 1

Uefa has announced a list of the 32 players who are in contention for their award for the best player of Europe.

La Liga champions Real Madrid are the most represented club on the list, with seven players, followed by Premier League holders Manchester City, who boast six players.

Champions League winners Chelsea and Catalan giants Barcelona boast four players each, while Radamel Falcao is the sole player from Europa League champions, Atletico Madrid.

The players were chosen by a jury of journalists from each of Uefa’s 53 member associations. The governing body for European football will reveal on August 14 the names of the three players who were given the most points by the writers, who will then proceed to the live vote to choose the overall winner in Monaco.

Barca’s Lionel Messi was the winner of the first edition of the award, beating team-mate Xavi and Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo to the honour.

Raul and Didier Drogba have left Europe since their exploits last season for Al Sadd and Shanghai Shenhua respectively, while Shinji Kagawa’s form for Borussia Dortmund earned him a summer move to Manchester United.

   Player         Club

Sergio Aguero Manchester City

Xabi Alonso Real Madrid

Mario Balotelli Manchester City

Jakub Blaszczykowski Borussia Dortmund

Gianluigi Buffon Juventus

Iker Casillas Real Madrid

Petr Cech Chelsea

Fabio Coentrao Real Madrid

Leslie Davies Bangor City

Didier Drogba Chelsea

Cesc Fabregas Barcelona

Radamel Falcao Atletico Madrid

Joe Hart Manchester City

Zlatan Ibrahimovic AC Milan

Andres Iniesta Barcelona

Shinji Kagawa Borussia Dortmund

Vincent Kompany Manchester City

Frank Lampard Chelsea

Lionel Messi Barcelona

Luka Modric Tottenham

Mesut Ozil Real Madrid

Pepe Real Madrid

Andrea Pirlo Juventus

Sergio Ramos Real Madrid

Raul Schalke
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid

Wayne Rooney Manchester United

David Silva Manchester City

Fernando Torres Chelsea

Yaya Toure Manchester City

Robin van Persie Arsenal

Xavi Barcelona

A live vote will be conducted to reveal the overall winner of the accolade after the final three most nominated players are revealed next month. Home Page

Tags: Europe

Read next

Show more

Read also: