Buhari to pay National Merit Awardees N10million each

Buhari to pay National Merit Awardees N10million each

- Each recipient of the National Merit Award will receive N10 million

- President Buhari is to give away the prize at a ceremony which will hold in Abuja on Thursday, December 1

Two recipients of this year’s Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM), will receive a cash prize of N10million.

Buhari to pay National Merit Awardees N10million each

[caption id="attachment_1061528" align="alignnone" width="800"] President Buhari is to honour two Nigerians with N10 million each.[/caption]

Etim Essien, Chairman, Governing Board of the Nigerian National Merit Award (NNMA), disclosed this at a news conference to mark the 9th Forum of NNOM Laureates in Abuja on Thursday, November 24.

The theme of the forum is: “Mono-Economy, Diversification, Exchange Rate Stability and the Development of the Nigerian Nation’’.

The NNOM is the highest national honours given to those who have excelled in the field of Science, Medicine, Engineering/Technology and Humanities.

READ ALSO: Buhari under severe attack, as FFK supports Obasanjo

The award is distinct from the more popular national honours, often given to politicians.

Essien said the president would give out a cash prize of N10 million alongside certificates and medals to each recipient.

He listed the two recipients as Sadik Omowunmi and Tanure Ojaide, both professors, for the science and humanities categories respectively.

“As prescribed in the laws governing the NNMA, the investiture will be performed by Mr President, Muhammadu Buhari, on Thursday, Dec.1, at the Presidential Villa.

“The law stipulates that the award will be given on the first Thursday of December of every year.

“The NNMA, which is the agency responsible to seek out the best intellectual and creative Nigerian minds, was set up to seek accolades at home.

“It is also charged with the responsibility to help in directing their energies to finding solutions to Nigeria’s problems and thus promote national development and enhance good national image internationally,’’ he said.

According to NAN, Essien added that the NNOM award by contrast was restricted mostly to Nigerian academics at home and in the Diaspora, who had attained very significant creativities in their fields of human endeavours.

He said the award was also open to Nigerians who had demonstrated exceptional creativities in other specialisations.

He said that a committee of assessors was set up to look at the work of the recipients, make recommendations and forward same to the governing board of the agency.

He said the governing board critically looks at the recommendation and transmits it to the president latest on September 1 of every year.

He commended the president for approving the recommendations of the two recipients.

Related news
FG should pay for the repair of churches destroyed by Boko Haram - Catholic bishops

FG should pay for the repair of churches destroyed by Boko Haram - Catholic bishops

Catholic bishops say FG should pay for churches bombed by Boko Haram
Mailfire view pixel